The New Halloween, Festivus ‘for the rest of us’

Posted on October 31, 2008. Filed under: christian, family, halloween, humor | Tags: , , , , , , |

Let me start by saying, I love Halloween and my kids love Halloween.  Our average middle class neighborhood with a ton of children for my kids to run around with is an idealistic setting especially on Halloween. We typically do the traditional, get the gang dressed up and trick or treat around the neighborhood till we are all about to collapse and dump the candy on the living room floor. We pick through our faves and eat candy till we are on the brink of vomiting.  As much fun as seems we won’t do just that this year. This year we are going to mix it up a bit, by briefly going house to house and then going to church for a “Harvest Celebration”.  There has been a bit a movement by progressive Christians that has gained momentum. I would have to call it anti Halloween….AKA “A Festivus For The Rest Of Us”.

Our church is not exactly typical so I don’t expect the Festivus to be average.  We attend a Mega church and the celebration is touted to have pony rides, inflatables and fun for the whole family.  Other than that I am not exactly sure what to expect.  I mean do i have to dress the kids in Christian costumes and what would that be anyway?  My genius husband says…maybe people from the Bible and I say that would be sacrilegious. The  only thing I could figure would be the Veggie Tales or The Cow from Chick-fil-A.  Who knows? I guess we will change after we secretly go trick or treating for two blocks and then go to church.

One thing is for sure I am bringing my Festivus pole.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The New Halloween, Festivus ‘for the rest of us’”

RSS Feed for The Daily Uplift Comments RSS Feed

Festivus a great non-denominational holiday. No one gets offended, and it’s all in the spirit of fun. (Remember “fun”?) Yes, it’s beginning to look a lot like Festivus!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

