The Obama Dream For White America

Posted on January 18, 2009. Filed under: barack obama, creative writing, humor, obama, politics, presidental election, racism, random, self improvement, self-awareness, social issues, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

jump-for-obamaLilly White

I guess you could say I’m white. No actually I’m not white I’m translucent. Or so it seems but I’ll get to that later. As such it would be obvious that I would know nothing of what this election means to minorities in America and the oppressed around the world.

I grew up in the 70’s and 80’s with a loving mother, tolerant grandmother and a well intentioned but racist grandfather. If the TV was on good times or Sanford and Son he would scream turn off those N—– shows.

It would be years before I knew my grandmother was Romanian but more than that American Indian and Gypsy. She and her brothers fought a tremendous amount of prejudices and adversities their entire lives. They went so far as to not only deny their heritage but to say they were Italian. We were all told to lie. For our own protection of course.

My great uncles were so black they were blue so it was to me, a small unknowing child, a silly lie. I liken this to when my 4 year old saw a pre-op transvestite at the grocery. He walked right up to him I mean her and announced “that is a man!”

You see they passed. Some easier than others but passed none the less.
Is that not what we all do? Put our best foot forward? Pick out most desirable traits and emphasize those while nearly wholly ignoring others.

We are all made to feel put upon at some point in our lives. Yes some overcome odds greater than others, but every person has been left out, picked on, made fun of, or just treated like crap at some moment. We are still the a part of the great melting pot. Oh wasn’t that a Saturday morning clip just like “I’m just a bill on Capitol hill”? Maybe we did stop talking about the big melting pot but we started doing it.

Obama’s win is for every person who has ever dreamed big or even those who never thought they were entitled to have such lofty dreams. He is the great hope for the nation. Yes we can!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “The Obama Dream For White America”

RSS Feed for The Daily Uplift Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations to President Obama and to all Americans.The peaceful and orderly transition of power is something you can rightly be proud of. Your ability to self-correct through the various stages of your nation’s history augur well for your future.

As a foreigner who wants good things to happen in any and all parts of the world, I wish Americans will work more in harmony with their president. How successful Obama can be as American president will depend on how well his fellow-Americans can rein in their demands for their expectations to be satisfied.

http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/inauguration-and-high-hopes/

Keep the hopes alive

I did not vote for him but he is my commander and cheif. I pray he makes the right choice for all of this great nation. I surly hope he listens to our military leaders. It our military that has given us our freedom, God Bless all of our soldiers and their families and God Bless President Obama.

I wish him and all of America the best of luck in the up coming 4 years.

I can say that I am personally not happy about his first choice concerning the terror suspects and releasing some of them. These people hate america , their people and will wipe us all of the face of the earth if given a chance. This was a grace chioce and will surly come back to bite america in the future. As for me, I am just praying,,,, god bless all


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

